Influenced by the Past

Having a nostalgic moment. Over the course of my lifetime, I’ve received much cherished advice spanning a myriad of topics from the amazing women who graced my life. I would be honored to hear what the women and or men in your life shared with, and taught, you.

“You can grow old gracefully or die young.” my Grandma, A

“Everyday is a birthday.” my Grandma, M

Dress for yourself. Your clothing should make you feel confident and attractive- regardless of your age.

Your shoes speak volumes. Do not underestimate the power of footwear.

Know your color.

Have a signature scent. It allows you to be present long after you leave.

There is never a wrong time- or age- for red lipstick, if you wear it right.

You never know who you may run into or who by may stop by.

Focus on what you have as opposed to what you do not have.

Creativity goes a long way.

Work within your means. You don’t have to buy a new wardrobe; scarves, belts and accessories can speak volumes.

Keep a journal documenting your outfits to insure you don’t always wear the same outfit. (My mom did this for quite some time out of school.)

Hot rollers are a lifesaver.

Learn how to properly iron and mend your own clothes; you will never regret learning. (In my home, these skills were acquired by the time you started kindergarten!)

Never stop dancing and singing.

Laughter and kindness make you infinitely beautiful.

It is improper to ask a woman her age.

“Let them look. I know I look good.” My grandma M who taught us that strong, independent women can also be elegant and graceful.

xox, Elle

2 comments

Leave a Reply

